Frequently Asked Questions
The Sensible Portions® brand purchases ingredients based on requirements designed to meet rigid specifications, food safety, and compliance with applicable regulations and certifications. We work with known suppliers who assure the quality and safety of their ingredients. Additionally, many of our food products receive independent certification from organic and Kosher certification third parties.
Our ingredients are predominantly sourced domestically, however it is sometimes necessary to source globally because some ingredients are not available domestically or the domestic sources are limited.
Many Sensible Portions® products are made with non-GMO ingredients, and we continue to work towards using non-GMO ingredients in the products that are not yet made with non-GMO ingredients. For more information, please click here.
No. Sensible Portions® products do not use artificial flavors or preservatives.
No. All of Sensible Portions® products contain 0g Trans Fat per serving.
All of our products are certified Gluten Free.
Our products are Gluten Free through The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). To learn more about the GFCO standards, please visit: https://gfco.org
Our products are Certified Gluten Free through The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) and carry the GFCO logo on pack.
Some of our products are organic. Our organic products will be labeled as such on the packaging.
All of our products are certified Kosher by the Orthodox Union (“OU”). Most of our products utilize the OU (Parve) kosher symbol on pack. However, some of our products utilize the OU-D (Dairy) kosher symbol.
We do use refined coconut oil in our Ranch Straws. The allergenic protein is removed; however, we still technically use a Tree nut ingredient.
While our products do not contain peanut ingredients, we cannot guarantee that our facility is peanut-free.
We employ strict manufacturing processes and procedures, and all of our manufacturing facilities follow rigid allergen control programs that include staff training, segregation of allergen ingredients, production scheduling, and thorough cleaning and sanitation.
Sensible Portions® follows the U.S. FDA regulations and declares major allergens (Milk, Eggs, Fish, Crustacean Shellfish, Tree Nuts, Peanuts, Wheat, and Soybeans).
Our Sensible Portions® products provide a “Best by” date code on packages. This is the date by which the product should be consumed.
U.S. date codes are listed as day, month, year (DDMMMYY). For example, 09FEB16 stands for February 9, 2016. However, if you buy our products internationally, the date code will follow the standard date format in your specific country.
We recommend consuming our products prior to the date indicated on the package. We cannot guarantee product quality after the “Best by” date.
The Hain Celestial Group, Inc. is the parent company behind the Sensible Portions® brand. As a leading natural and organic food and personal care products company in North America and Europe, the Hain Celestial Group is committed to helping consumers lead A Healthy Way of Life™. With a portfolio of 40+ brands, Hain Celestial participates in almost all natural food categories. Aside from Sensible Portions™, other Hain Celestial brands include Celestial Seasonings®, Terra®, Garden of Eatin’®, and Health Valley®.
For career opportunities at Sensible Portions®, please visit the Careers page on the Hain Celestial Group Inc.’s website, www.hain-celestial.com/careers.